Insolvency Institute

2017 III PRIZE in International Insolvency Studies

The International Insolvency Institute is pleased to announce the winners of its 2017 Prize in International Insolvency Studies. The Prize in International Insolvency Studies comprises a Gold Medal Prize for the winning submission as well as a Silver Medal Prize, a Bronze Medal Prize, and several Finalist Prizes. The Prizes are accompanied by an honorarium for the Medal winners.

Gold Medal Winner
Simin Gao, Tsinghua University, School of Law
The U.S. Reorganization Regime in the Chinese Mirror: Legal Transplantation and Obstructed Efficiency

Silver Medal Winner
Aurelio Gurrea-Martínez, Harvard Law School
The Avoidance of Pre-Bankruptcy Transactions: An Economic and Comparative Approach

Bronze Medal Winner
Lynette Janssen, Leiden University
Bail-in From an Insolvency Law Perspective

The III Prize is awarded for original legal research, commentary or analysis on topics of international insolvency and restructuring significance and on comparative international analysis of domestic insolvency and restructuring issues and developments. The Prize Competition is open to full and part-time undergraduate and graduate students and to practitioners in practice for nine years or less. Entries must not have been published prior to October 2016 and must be available to be posted on the International Insolvency Institute website at Medal-winning entries will be considered for publication in the Norton Journal of Bankruptcy Law and Practice (West) and for inclusion in the Westlaw electronic database. 

Entries were judged by a distinguished panel of leading international insolvency academics and practitioners. The Jury included Co-Chairs Professor Christoph Paulus, Humboldt University, Berlin, Professor Jay L. Westbrook, University of Texas, Austin and Hon. Samuel L. Bufford, Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pennsylvania and our distinguished Members, Professor Edward Janger, Brooklyn Law School, Brooklyn, Professor Matthias Haentjens, Leiden Law School, Professor Stephan Madaus, Martin-Luther University, Halle, Germany, Professor Rosalind Mason, Queensland University of Technology , Brisbane, Professor Junichi Matsushita, University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Professor Riz Mokal, University College, London, Professor John A.E. Pottow, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Professor Jingxia (Josie) Shi, China University of International Business & Economics, Beijing, and Professor Ulrik Rammeskow Bang-Pedersen, University of Copenhagen, Denmark.

The Gold Medal winner will be honoured at the III’s Seventeenth Annual International Insolvency Conference in London, England on June 18-20, 2017. All Medal Winners and Finalists will be invited to attend the Conference and will be provided with complementary Conference registration. Medal Winners will also be nominated to Class VI of the III NextGen Leadership Program which will convene in London on June 18, 2017 during the III’s 2017 Conference. For further details and the terms of the III Prize in International Insolvency Studies, please contact Franca Tibando, Executive Director of the International Insolvency Institute NextGen Leadership Program, (telephone) 416.595.2965 or (email)

Connect with Members

Login to participate in discussion forums,access your members' only documents, or access committee information.To find a fellow member and view their profile fill out the form below.

Find a Member